BABY BOOMERS – THE VECRO GROUP

Image

I recently read with interest and with concern that Baby Boomers are one of the largest groups who are committing suicide. Let me define who are baby boomers

BABY BOOMERS were born from 1945 to 1964. This means my friends, my acquaintances and at one time the people I rubbed shoulders with at work. 

Here are some of the reasons given for suicides. We are Velcro group for many of us nothing stuck whatever our plans were as young people and as adults. Disillusion of what and how our life would turn out gave us despair.

1.  Loss of job and companies closings.

I remember when husband’s company closed in  Bradenton due to the main company found pouring chemicals into the sewer. From then on, we faced nothing but company closures and lay offs. Our hopes would soar as he became gainfully employed. Then our hearts dropped when his employment fell through. This took a great adjustment financially and emotionally.

2. Loss of homes.

The next to last job my husband’s corporation closed the branch company where he worked. We watched our hopes of retirement into an comfortable home in Northern Florida become shattered. This devastated us.

3,  Lack of family unity

Because my husband and I are in a second marriage, and we all faced many problems during my children’s and teen years, we despite my wishes never became close.  I swore as a young adult I’d never become like my mother where we, her children grew to be strangers. Yet, before my eyes this very thing happened.

4.  A youth oriented society

I decided to go back to school and obtain my BA degree at fifty. Yet, I found once I graduated from college a resistence to finding an occupation in my chosen field. We were always been told from the time I was a young person nothing can stop you but you.

5.  Disability and infirments

These are things my husband and I never considered. I have a laundry list of problems. Some of the problems Baby Boomers face are hypertension, obesity, depression.  Yes, I’ll admit during these times of stress I mourned the lack of jobs, financial security, loss of our home, relocation, saying goodbye to friends made, and oh so many disappointments. I haven’t been so sadden when I watched my husband waste away. He went through nine doctors and finally we found the reason for his illness. However, all of the doctors visits, hospitalization, diagnostic tests, depleted the little nest egg we saved once again for our retirement home, Again grief over loss.

6.  Over use opiates and substances such alcohol and illegal drugs.

I believe this started with the glorification of the flower children and Beatles and many of the famous rock groups of the day.

7.  I’ll group this into one. Vietnam Veterans and their lack of acceptance by their country as well as their illnesses attributed to fighting a war along with the spraying of Agent Orange and their consumption of drugs.

We have the feminists who were promises never added up. Many of  the women lost home, husband and family because they were married to their jobs.

There are all types of examples found in the internet. We had a friend who ran an successful business as a ophthalmologists who suffered from depression. The couple faced the lost of their home because of financial bills, and this man couldn’t deal with the burden. He jumped from a bridge into a dry river. He died instantly.  What a loss. What a tragedy. A wife without a husband and pregnant, and a little girl who worshipped her daddy.

As I read page after page of the reasons suggesting for the escalation of suicides never once did I see an solution to the problem.

SOLUTION TO WHAT WE SUFFER AS BABY BOOMERS

What I’m saying God-Jesus is the answer for our strength as we weathered each of the storms or sometimes many storms at the same time. He was and is our anchor. I don’t know the reason why we suffered each of these upsets in life, but we did.

For me the only way to survive these rough days ahead of us with a government who seems to not care about its citizens with a society who worship youth and a world which is all about the “me”, the only answer is Jesus.  Jesus died for you and me. He is coming again. All we have to do is ask him to come into our lives to forgive us. He wants to be our friend, our God. I hope you decide to accept Him into your life. Read John 3:16 and know He loves you. This is the reason for His dying on the cross.

God bless you all. sle 

 

    

 

  

 

4 thoughts on “BABY BOOMERS – THE VECRO GROUP

  1. I don’t know if you are suggesting that those who die by suicide have a flawed faith or lack of faith but to do so is ignoring of all the health reasons that are quite evident in those who die by suicide. I am a Christian and my son who died by suicide at 29 yrs old was a Christian. Pastor Rick Warren is a Christian and so was his mentally ill son…and the list goes on. Depression is about chemical imbalance which I prayed about over the years for two of my children who have this illness …an illness like cancer, heart disease, diabetes….and can and does have a fatal outcome. Were my prayers not good enough? Did I or my children…or Pastor Warren’s and his son not matter to God? Why is it that death by suicide is always judged by those who do not understand the science behind the disease…like the brain imaging that proves that the frontal lobe lacks seratonin…etc…that the brain can become ill like any other part of the body.

    You are over simplifying this kind of death with a list of social ills….because really, “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Mental illness is a complicated disease but because it affects behavior “religious people” consider it a “curse”… a mortal sin….unforgivable. Sadly, they are in danger of having no mercy from their “judgment seat”…another thing Jesus warned against. Judging. When all is said and done…unless Jesus returns before we die…we are all going to die and it is not HOW we die that matters but how we lived.

    Jesus is the Savior and Healer but He does not always choose to heal us here on earth, but ultimately heals us in His presence for eternity. I feel certain that is where my precious, much loved, intelligent, creative, kind, blessing of a son is this very moment. Not once have I been angry at him for dying the way he died…but I have been envious. I am his loving mother who has loved him all of his life and so has his whole family. He had the best education, the best clothes, a nice home, many friends, talented artist, football player…..but in the end none of that matters to someone whose brain/nerve center/emotions is not well. Your list is a list of catalysts for those who are already suffering something too deep and painful to share with just anyone. Because of the offensive stigma that has been attached to this kind of disease/death….why would anyone talk about it? For most…it is a shameful experience and it should not be.

    I hope the church will wake up from the Dark Ages and realize the good it could do for those who have mental illness instead of judging those afflicted. My blog (lensgirl53.wordpress.com) is dedicated to educating all of those who are in search of answers. And no, there are no solutions because, sadly, it is a disease that not one “cure” fits all. While you have been able to attribute your faith in Jesus as to how you “weathered” the storms of life, my son and I had/have Jesus, too…and we did not get the answer we would have hoped for but when all is said and done, “not my will but Thine.”

    Thank you for allowing me to explain my position. I pray God continues to bless you.

    • Hello,
      I would like to offer you my sympathy for the loss of your son. In no way, was I suggesting depression is not a disease like arthritis of the body, I do no about depression because I suffer from a mild form of it. As a teenager, I was suicidal and later into young adulthood,

      What I was conveying that Baby Boomers as a group are committing suicide almost more than any other group in the our country, I listed some of the contributing factors to their wanting to die. I listed the experiences we had. Because of my mild depression, if I didn’t have Jesus, I know I would have acted out on it.

      I don’t believe your son fell into the category of Baby Boomers born from 1945 to the early sixties. There are various reasons for depression as you well know. Some type of depression is organic. Some depression occurs at the spur of the moment like the men who jumped and committed suicide when the stock marked crased in the late twenties and early thirties, Some type of depression is brought on by disablity and etc.
      I worked as a nurse, and many or most of my residents I cared for were depressed. They didn’t suffer from depression in their earlier years, but the loss of dependency and loss of love ones including their spouces lead to depression.

      I hope you understand now. I’m sorry if I produced consternation for you. In no way did I wish to do so. As I said before, I was reporting about the people who never expereinced depression before. For want of space, I could have given examples, but this would have made this blog even longer.

      Take care. Thank you for responding.
      God bless you and your family,
      In Christian love,
      sle

      • Thank you for clarifying…I always respond to various blogs on this very delicate and personal subject so that other readers will hopefully understand the devastating reasons one may die by suicide. Also thank you for allowing me to post my concerns. Have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

