SCRIPTURES TO COMFOR YOU AS WE FACE THE WORLD

Image

Psalms 139: 13-18 is indeed one of my many favorite passages David wrote. For me, I am adopted. These verses say to me I wasn’t a mistake. God knew me as I lie in my mother’s womb. To me, this said each aborted child is known by God because he begats life.

Perhaps, you might question the reason for children being born with disabilities or deformities. We live in a world in which the prince of darkness dominates this world. We are fallen and affected by sin. Yet in no way can an excuse lie in exterminating a group because of inconvenience or this group’s worth no longer holds value. To me to rid a child for conveniences sake is deplorable. To me mercy killing is unacceptable. Jesus is the author of life and death.

These verses also say to me all those born and unborn hold value before birth. My grandson, who is autistic holds value. I can remember being introduced to my step grandchild who is autistic. He didn’t make eye contact with me. However, after dinner he laid his head down on my lap and fell asleep. This gesture touched my heart so much, I instantly loved this little boy. I know someday, in heaven, he’s not going to be saddled with this problem, but he is going to possess the ability to speak and talk and sing.

Matthew 10:29-31

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than most sparrows.

He cares when tears of pain fall. He is with me to comfort me.

Psalms 119: 13-18

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
(I know that full well.)

15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

17 How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
They cannot be numbered!

18 I can’t even count them;
they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!

This to me means my body is not my own as I thought for so many years. Jesus designed me.

He knew ahead of time, my life about all of the ups and downs.

He knew when I became old the pains I’d experience.

He gave me my talents and my gifts which I took for granted.

He said my body is a temple, and I’m not to abuse it.

Something, I never thought about as I over worked because I thought I had to and didn‘t rely on Him to provide. I over ate, over drink at times attempting to drown and layer my psychological pain.  I smoke two packs of cigarettes a day for twenty-six years. I started when a friend of mine told me I could lose weight if I started smoking. All I did is gain another bad habit which took a long time to stop.  Yet, He allows me to live. To Him, I am forever grateful. I hope you think of this as you wake up every morning and realize this life is not your life but belongs to Jesus. He holds our life in a fine balance. 

I like what George Washington Carver said, “How far you go depends on your being tender with the young and compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because something in your life will have been all of these.”

His ultimate love for us occurred when He went to the cross. But God proves His love for us that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8 My hope for the world is they might know Him and recognize Him as their Savior. Jesus is King. Psalms 23 says

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

I hope you will remember this as you travel through life. God Bless you all. Do you have any scripture you love? Leave a comment. Is there something you’d like to discuss? I’d love to discuss it with you. My next blog will be on Sunday, Janueary 12. sle

 

2 thoughts on “SCRIPTURES TO COMFOR YOU AS WE FACE THE WORLD

    • Hi Love,
      Yes you are correct. James is a good book. Maybe, I need to reread it again. 🙂 If it’s good enought for hundreds of thousands of men in AA, then it’ssomething I need to study!

Leave a Reply

