HEARTY, SPLIT PEA SOUP FOR A WINTER DAY

Image

 

Hi folks!

Happy freezing day to you. Temperature dropped down to 21 degrees last light and tonight it’s suppose to be a whopping 27 degrees.  Whoppee!

To me there’s nothing’s better than having Hot, Split Pea Soup on a cold, winter day. Believe it or not the smell of this soup takes me back to my childhood days. When I’d rush into our home on a blistery day with the smell of the aroma of the Split Pea soup that my mom was fixing began the anticipation for some good eatin‘. Good memories.

I’ve been making Split Pea Soup for a long time.  I tried Emeril’s soup tonight, and this is really good. The added spices I think make the difference. From now on, this is how I‘m going to fix it. 

Ham and Split Pea Soup

Recipe courtesy Emeril Lagasse, 2001 Food Network

Prep Time:

20 min

Inactive Prep Time:

INGREDIENTS

I pound split dried split peas

1 ham hock (I like a lot more than one ham hock. I took the bone I froze from Christmas Dinner and stuck it in. Plus slices of ham I froze and defrosted them both.)

3 Tablespoons of unsalted butter ( I don’t ever have unsalted butter on hand. I used salted butter and it worked just fine.)

½ cup  finely chopped celery

½ cup finely chopped carrots

2 teaspoons of minced garlic ( If you don’t have this go ahead and use powered garlic.)

One pound or as desired amount of ham

¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

8 cups water ( Can use 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of water)

1 bay leaf

2 teaspoons fresh thyme

Cook Time:

1 hr 20 min

Level:

Intermediate

Serves:

8 servings

Directions

1, Place the peas in a large pot or bowl, cover with water by 2 inches and soak 8 hours or overnight. Drain the peas and set aside.

2, Score the ham hock. As I said I like more than one ham hock, but I used Christmas leftovers I kept in the freezer.

3. Place in a pot, cover with water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let

simmer for 1 hour. Drain and set aside.

4, In a large pot, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Add the

onions and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes. Add the celery and carrots and cook, stirring, until just soft, about 3 minutes. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for 30 seconds.

5. Add the ham hock (s)and ham and cook, stirring, until beginning to brown. Add the drained

peas, salt, pepper, and pepper flakes, and cook, stirring for 2 minutes.

6. Add 8 cups of water, the bay leaf and

thyme, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the peas are tender, about 1 hour. (Add more water as needed, if the soup becomes too thick or dry.)

7. Remove the bay leaf and discard. Adjust the seasoning, to taste, and serve immediately

with hot, Cheesey Baking Powder Biscuits. HMM, HMM, GOOD!

Baking Powder Cheddar Biscuits

THESE ARE ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. fine sea salt (If you don’t have sea salt use regular salt.)
8 Tbs. (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch dice (I use regular butter)
1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
2/3 cup milk

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 450.

2. Lightly butter a baking sheet or line with parchment paper.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  (NOTE: I always sift my flour and measure because there usually is after sifting more flour than was measured. Also, I sift the baking soda and salt.)

4. Using a pastry blender, work the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles coarse meal, making sure the butter stays cold and handling the mixture as little as possible. (I’ve been using a fork for years. I guess because I didn’t have one when I first married and now I’m use to using it.)

5. Stir in the cheese and milk with a spoon just until all the liquid has been absorbed. (Over handling will make the biscuits tough). 

6. With lightly floured hands, work the dough briefly until it barely holds together in a flaky ball.

7. Drop by heaping spoonfuls 2 inches apart onto the prepared baking sheet.

8. Bake until golden brown, about 10-12 minutes (depending on the size of the biscuits). Serve warm with butter.

 

I hope you enjoy try this and enjoy your meal. Remember, Jesus loves you, and, if you don’t know him, BELIEVE He died on the cross and rose again. CONFESS your sins to Him or REPENTACCEPT the gift. TELL someone. FIND a church that preaches from the Bible and BELIEVES in it from cover to cover.  My next blog will be on Humor The Best Medicine Thursday, January 9; January 10, Friday Bible Scriptures and Sunday, January 12 my normal blog.  Until then God bless you and Keep you. Take care. sle

One thought on “HEARTY, SPLIT PEA SOUP FOR A WINTER DAY

  1. Pingback: Hearty Pea Soup | gluadys' cookbooks

Leave a Reply

