SCRIPTURE OF THE WEEK -SECRETS & FORGIVENESS

Image

 

Hi all!

Here is another favorite passage in the Bible written by David. He was a beautiful man. I loved how he danced and sang before God. He loved life. Besides so many men and women found in the Bible, he is a great example of a human being who loved God with all his heart. 

Psalm 139:1-6

1. LORD You have searched me and known me.

2. You know when I sit down and when I stand up. You understand my thoughts from far away.

3. You observe my travels and my rest: You are aware of all my ways.

4. Before a word is on my tongue. You know all about it, LORD.

5. You have encircled me. You have placed YOUR hand on me.

6. This extraordinary knowledge is beyond me. It is lofty. I am unable to reach it.

I learned from Al-Anon that a person is as sick as their darkest secret. When we think of secrets, we think of actions we committed. We think of people we don’t like and try to hide these feelings. We think of our fears and our doubts no one knows about.  God knows, and He forgives us if we confess our sins. No longer does He remember. This is important to forgive ourselves.

For me the Serenity Prayer is a great one to use when we feel anger and unforgiveness of our past actions. These words of wisdom are taken from “Hope for Today” January 2, one of three daily Al-Anon books. 

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things we cannot change“…this teaches us we cannot alter the past neither what was done to us or if we hurt someone by our actions….Courage to change the things I can…we can change our attitudes, resentments, self pity and my fears…This is what this phrase means…”Wisdom to know the difference” which gives hope we can change for the better.

When we look back, we need to not stare. We need to feel the emotions, the anguish, the pain, the bitterness and the emptiness and then by the grace of God we can forgive ourselves and others and let go.

“The Serenity Prayer can bring light to the parts of myself still clouded by my past.

And if a crises arises or any problem baffles m or you. We can hold it

To the light of the Serenity Prayer and extract its sting before it can

Hurt us.”

The Serenity Prayer strengthens our hope into a brighter tomorrow. I hope you hold onto this and realize Jesus is here for the asking and He forgives everything. The challenge becomes for us to forgive ourselves, and others. 

Take care. God bless you. Remember Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. The way to salvation is to first BELIEVE He died on the cross for you and me. ASK Him and He’ll forgive you. No longer do you have to carry the heavy burden of pain and hurt and unforgiveness. ACCEPT the gift. I hope you who do not know him turn to him. John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten Son that whosoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. TELL someone and FIND a church who teaches the Bible. Leave me a question or comment. I’d love to discuss these concepts and thoughts with you.  Take care. sle

My next blog is tomorrow, January 3 on Humor of the week and then my normal blog, Sunday, January 5.

Leave a Reply

