EASY GLAZED CHRISTMAS HAM

Image

 

EASY GLAZED CHRISTMAS HAM

Hi all!

I don’t know about you, but Christmas is usually a time I serve ham. I have on occasion served Turkey when the kids were small because we received  turkey from our employers and this was a free meal.  I love the smell of ham cooking. For me, I prefer the bone in the ham. Yes, I know I’m paying for the bone, but I believe the bone adds juices or a better taste to the ham. I usually served this with  scalloped, cheese potatoes and maybe a green bean casserole plus I still love to have a cranberry salad. The one I especially love is the frozen cranberry salad. It is simple to make and ddddelicious!!!  By the way, the glaze I use on my ham is a recipe I made up, so I really don’t know the measurements. This recipe is close to what I use when I make the glaze to my ham.

I hope you and your family enjoy eating this ham. 

 

CHRISTMAS HAM GLAZE RECIPE 

TOTAL TIME: Prep: 10 min. Bake: 2 hours

MAKES: 16-20 servings

Ingredients

1 fully cooked bone-in ham (6 to 8 pounds)

Whole cloves

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup pineapple juice

1 can (8 ounces) sliced pineapple, drained

5 maraschino cherries

Directions

Place ham in roasting pan.

Cut the surface with shallow diagonal cuts, making diamond shapes;

Insert cloves into the diamonds.

Cover and bake at 325° for 1-1/2 hours.

Combine brown sugar and pineapple juice; pour over ham.

Arrange pineapple and cherries on ham.(This is optional.)

Bake, uncovered, 30-45 minutes longer or until a meat thermometer reads 140° and the ham is heated through. Yield: 16-20 servings.

 

FIRST CHRISTMAS EVE DINNER

My poor ex inlaws, I spent months flipping through pages of magazines  attempting to find a perfect  recipe for this special meal. I finally settled on ham and scalloped potatoes. Yup, my taste doesn’t change much. I do like trying all types of recipes, though. Usually, when my husband knows it’s a recipe from the  web, he’ll exclaim, “Oh know, not another internet recipe!” He really doesn’t like different recipes at first , but after tasting the food, he’ll generally like the taste.

Anyway,  I thought I followed the recipe, if I remember correctly required I add dry mustard to a bowl, so I reasoned what the difference between dry and  mustard found in the refrigerator. I added the refrigerated mustard. I didn’t have  measuring spoons so I used a regular teaspoons.  The recipe called for a can of sweetened pineapple, and I bought unsweeted pineapple plus I used white sugar instead of brown sugar. I mixed all up with  seasoning  and placed it on the ham. (YUK!)  I made the scalloped potatoes that were raw with runny sauce when we bit into them. What a fiasco! I think it would have been better to made ham sandwiches and call the dinner a meal.  After they left, I think I cried a few tears. I  wanted to impress my ex in-laws in a good way. I did impress them all right. I think they felt sorry for their son who married a woman who didn’t know how cook. They were right.

My ex in-laws were polite, but I’m sure they went home hungary and probably had a late meal at home. Yes, I’ve improved . The old clique says, “Practice makes Perfect and that it did. There are exceptions when whatever I cook doesn’t taste good.  Maybe those are the days, I could settle for a nice green salad, but I have a husband who most of the time likes a hot cooked meal for dinner evern for lunch.

Take care. Merry Christmas. Remember Jesus loves you ,and if you don’t know him, Confess your sins – the things you’ve done wrong.  Believe He died on the cross,  Accept the gift. Tell someone and find a church who believes in the whole Bible.  I will post another blog on humor on   December 19; on the 20,  I’ll post the Chritmas story and then  on December 22, I’ll post my normal blog.

                                                                      

                                                                                                                                   

                                                                         

                

Leave a Reply

