JESUS THE GIFT TO MANKIND THE SPIRIT OF CHRISTMAS TO A MY FAMILY

Image

 

As I said, I’m posting the reason for Christmas- the Christmas message. While the forces of those who are antichristian attempt to stifle His birth, the story of the birth of our Christ will continue to ring out across the lands of the world.  Hallelujah he is born!

THE CHRISTMAS STORY

The Birth of Jesus Luke 2:1-20

1 In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world.

2 (This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.)

3 And everyone went to their own town to register.

4 So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David.

5 He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child.

6 While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born,

7 and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no guest room available for them.

8 And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night.

9 An angel of the Lord appeared to them and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified.

10 But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people.

11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord.

12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

13 Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying,

14 “Glory to God in the highest heaven,
and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

15 When the angels had left them and gone into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, “Let’s go to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has told us about.”

16 So they hurried off and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby, who was lying in the manger.

17 When they had seen him, they spread the word concerning what had been told them about this child,

18 and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds said to them.

19 But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.

20 The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things they had heard and seen, which were just as they had been told. 

THE GIFT OF CHRISTMAS BY FRIENDS

Many years ago when my children were young, (I guess I was young, too.) the first year  of my separation from my first husband. Near Christmas, through the folly of my own, I smashed my car. Actually, I landed upside down in my car of an embankment of a major highway. Those were the days when seat belts were not mandatory to use. Once again, I came out unscathed, but my car was totaled.  I no longer could travel to my present position as a receptionist at IBM, and I lost my job.

I was not receiving any child support, and I knew I needed to find a job. I was hired to work in a nursing home a mile away. At first, I asked neighbors if they had a bike for me to use  to get to work. One of the neighbors lent me her daughter’s bicycle. I  tried this, but I dsicovered it worse than using my Tom and Jerrys.

I found myself having to walk with my children to the babysitters and then from the her place I’d walked a mile to work. Christmas was rolling around, and still I didn’t have any money for gifts let alone money for a special meal.  I understood that I would receive my paycheck before Christmas. Wrong, They weren’t giving the checks until after Christmas. 

I walked to work back and forth with a heavy  heart. I felt like a failure already. Though the first marriage to my husband was violent, and I found out he was seeing another woman, I questioned if maybe I jumped to quick. I knew better, but my children and I experienced many hardships those months prior to the separation and years after. In fact, I wonder, if  my children who are adults now, still have wounds which are not healed. There is nothing I can do about this, but pray for them. I digress.    

One week before Christmas, a friend of mine knocked on our door, and I opened it to find to my surprise a live tree with a stand. The kids danced around and were excited to have a tree. I suggested we make paper ribbons and use the paste of flour and water. The kids and I set about making the ribbons cut out of newspaper for our beautiful tree.

During the week, a another knock came and another friend of mine came with Christmas lights and balls for our tree.  My children and I strung the lights on the trees ,hung the Christmas balls and strung our Christmas chain while we sang Christmas songs.. I used a sheet for a Christmas tree skirt. We turned off the lights in the front room, and the tree to me was one of the beautiful Christmas trees I ever laid my eyes on  and have seen.

Christmas Eve arrived, and I had Christmas off.  The babysitter picked me up after work which I thought was a gift in itself. When we arrived at our home, she handed me four gifts- three gifts for my children and one for me. I couldn’t believe it because of her generosity,I now placed presents underneath our tree.

Christmas Eve night another knock came at the door and in walked a friend of mine from my former employer with bags of groceries and a Turkey! Through the help of friends, a gift of love was bestowed on a mother with three children. This is probably one of the most beautiful Christmas I’ve ever spent. My heart was filled with thankfulness. The sprit of Christmas came from the hands of others.

I’d like to challenge you my followers and those of you who are reading this story, find something you can do in the Sprit of Christmas, find an act of kindness you can give to someone. I know personally these acts bring a feeling of warmth. As you well know, Christmas isn’t all about receiving. It is about the giving to others as we remember the gift our Lord Jesus gave to us.

God Bless you my friends. Merry Christmas. Remember Jesus is the reason for the season. If you don’t know Him, I ask you to please don’t wait. We never know when the breath we take is the last breath. Believe Jesus died and rose again. Confess your sins or things committed wrong. Accept the gift.  Tell someone.  John 3:16 For God so loved the World that He gave his only begotten Son that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have ever lasting life.  God bless you all.

I would love to hear your Christmas Story of acts of kindness given or received. I’d love to talk with you about any questions you might have about salvation. How do you feel about Christmas? My next blog is scheduled to be posted on Sunday, December 15, the day after my grandson’s birthday. Happy Birthday, Daniel! Oh my, 21 years of age!!

 

 

 

.

One thought on “JESUS THE GIFT TO MANKIND THE SPIRIT OF CHRISTMAS TO A MY FAMILY

  1. Pingback: HOW TO GET GOD TO BLESS YOUR LIFE THIS CHRISTMAS | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

