LAUGHTER’S OUR BEST MEDICINE AND FOR THE SOUL

Image

 

Hello everyone!

I hope all of you enjoyed your day spent with family, friends or both. We were most fortunate to go to our daughter’s home, and she prepared enough food to feed a troop. We were able to visit with our grandchildren and children as well. Of course, there was the turkey and the dressing and everything to go with it, plus all kinds of cookies, candy, sweet breads and pies. All them were absolutely delicious. Thank you Sonya and John, daughter and son-in-law. Thank you, Amber for the awesome Pumpkin pie. This is my granddaughter, whom I referring to.

Plus the jokes I listed, I have a joke to tell you about an English friend of mine who had been only in the states for a short time when this took place. Long ago, I worked for Bro Darts Book Publishing Company in Williamsport, PA. I worked with an English gal, and she told us after Thanksgiving how she followed the instructions for cleaning the Turkey word for word. She thought when it said to clean the Turkey; this is exactly what it met. She literally plopped the turkey into soapy water. “I cleaned the bloody turkey with soap and water.” All I thought of at that time was Lawrence Welk’s song, “Tiny  bubbles make me happy.” She should have played this as her guests bit into their squeaky, clean turkey. My co-worker and I laughed and laughed. I guess at this time, they never cooked turkeys in England. J

I will tell you Great Grandma’s fruit salad recipe I lost and found one on-line-turned out great. My Carrot Cake turned out wonderful. We forgot to take the dessert with us, and our Pilgrim hats turned out really cute. Much of this is thanks to my husband helping me.  So, everything I thought was a miserable mistake turned out delicious.  Thank you God.      

Here are a couple of jokes to make you smile if not laugh and remember even a smile might use up a calorie or a laugh might use up two of those added calories gained yesterday. J

 

The pro football team had just finished their daily practice session when a large turkey came strutting onto the field. While the players gazed in amazement, the turkey walked up to the head coach and demanded a tryout. Everyone stared in silence as the turkey caught pass after pass and ran right through the defensive line. When the turkey returned to the sidelines, the coach shouted, “You’re terrific!!! Sign up for the season, and I’ll see to it that you get a huge bonus.” “Forget the bonus,” the turkey said, “All I want to know is, does the season go past Thanksgiving Day?” 

Ode to Thanksgiving (makes a great Thanksgiving toast)

May your stuffing be tasty
May your turkey plump,
May your potatoes and gravy
Have nary a lump.
May your yams be delicious
And your pies take the prize,
And may your Thanksgiving dinner
Stay off your thighs! 

I found this on the internet. However, as far as I’m concerned, it’s not just my thighs I’m concerned about, It’s the whole body effect.,

Take care. God Bless you all. Remember we are entering the season for the reason for the celebration of the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Now here’s a way to not be politically correct. Write on every email sent and every letter sent, Merry Christmas. Jesus is the reason for the season.

For those of you, who do not know Him; remember Jesus died on the cross for you and me. He arose again.  First, Believe He did this.  Second, confess your sins and acknowledge Him. Third, accept the gift. Fourth Thank Him for the gift. Sixth, tell someone.

If you have any questions let me know. I’d be glad to answer whatever you would like to know. If you have a joke to post, I’d love to read it. This might help to shave off another calorie or two gained. J  This coming Sunday, I post my normal blog. SLE

Leave a Reply

