WHERE WAS GOD WHEN

 

Image

 

Have you ever faced an emotional upheaval or a dramatic event and asked where is God?  Did you feel like you were alone facing a tsunami which would change your life forever?

In my novel, the protagonist, Francisca all through her life wrestles with the questions of where was God when my mother beat me?  Where was God when my husband beat me?  Later after her husband raped her, she questioned if God was so powerful why did He let this happen to me?

For me, I questioned the same things my protagonist asked?  Why did He let these things happen to me in my life?  My reasoning was I don’t deserve this. 

As a young man my present husband ended up as a studies subject in the medical text books, when he contacted Guillain Barre Syndrome.   At this time in the early 70’s, few people faced this debilitating disease.   He went from being a man, we would call buffed. to a man whose legs were the size of a broom stick handle.  This was devastating to him.  He walked into the hospital not feeling well, and three year later, he wheeled himself out in a wheelchair. 

Due this crises, his first marriage crumbled.  He lost everything he worked hard for including his home.  Most of all, he lost his identity.  In his bitterness, he asked a friend he met in the hospital,  Why did God desert me?  Why did I get this disease?

The man’s first response was to recite to him a poem titled Footsteps In the Sand.   

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord.

Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand.

Sometimes there were two sets of footprints,

other times there were one set of footprints. T

This bothered me because I noticed

that during the low periods of my life,

when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow or defeat,

I could see only one set of footprints.

So I said to the Lord, “You promised me Lord,

that if I followed you, you would walk with me always.

But I have noticed

That during the most trying periods of my life

there have only been one set of footprints in the sand.

Why, when I needed you most,

you have not been there for me?”

The Lord replied,

“The times when you have seen only one set of footprints,

is when I carried you.”

Mary Stevenson

This brought tears to my husband’s eyes.  The man turned to him and said, “You see my friend, Jesus has been carrying you when you couldn’t walk.

Then he went on to say, as for why you?  He clasped his hand  in both of his hands.  My husband’s hands at one time bounced a soccer ball down the field.  Now they were curled and had braces attached to them.   “Why not you?”

This has stuck with me all my life when he told me this at the beginning of our relationship.  He gave me the poem when I felt life wasn’t worth living.  I remember this as we faced the multiple obstacles in life which could have destroyed us. 

Then I remembered Jesus is carrying me.  Don’t squirm Sharon.  It’s going to be all right.  Enjoy his gentle arms.  Relax.

If bitterness creeps into my life,  I remember why not me?  So, in the mist of a storm, a calm and peace can occur because I know God is always with me.  To Him, I owe the thanks for his mercy and kindness. 

To my readers, I hope for you who are suffering in one way or another even if you heard this poem, it can present a new meaning to you.  Remember Jesus cares.

I would love to hear from you and leave some comments.  I know not everyone believes the same as me.  I’ll gladly reply to any and all comments. 

As for me today, this is my birthday.  God has allowed me to live 67 years.  Not as long as some people, but longer than others.  So, I’m celebrating with my partner for life, my husband.  Take care.  I’ll be back with a new blog on Friday, September 6.  Then I’ll be 67 years and three days old.

 

2 thoughts on “WHERE WAS GOD WHEN

  1. I was very angry and despondent years ago, during my healing process, the Lord dropped his hand on my shoulder, gave it a little shake and said “I’m not finished with you yet”. Almost immediately,I began to feel better, a little each day. Since then, I have had a close relationship with God. I know there are days that He picks me up and carries me. Oh, how grateful I am that HE does that ! I talk to God everyday, He is my ever constant friend…….carrying me thru many difficult times !

    • Thank you for your comments. Yes, the Lord promises us to send a comforter when we need Him. I’m glad you are here and a very good friend. I cherish your friendship. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

